Thursday, December 10, 2009

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Internet & Business Online Marketing Homework

1. My IP Address: 64.12.116.12
My Host Name: cache-mtc-aa08.proxy.aol.com
Town, State: none - shows up as a pinpoint on a map, northeast of Wichita, KA
Latitude: 38 Longitude: -97
Current Location: Somers, NY
Host location is far, far away from me at the moment.

2.4.1. The site received 1,261 visits in November 2009
2.4.2. Farthest (city) visitor from SUNY Purchase: Auckland, New Zealand
2.4.3. Browser least used was NetFront

2.5. Keywords accounting for most visits: internet business wiki

2.6. Page most visited: /outline-and-learning-outcomes viewed 752 times

2.7.1. Average conversion rate was: 11.5%
2.7.2. 145 clicks @ $10 = $1,450.
2.7.3. 10% of visitors visited the home page, then the Assignments page

3.1. Lexus of Greenwich - website effective points:
o Ability to Research New Models...David could showcase new lines, items
o Build your Lexus...David could create a what do you want in a bathroom page
o Learn about us...David could put up testimonials, before/after photos, tell about store...
o Virtual tour..not sure about the cost of changing/updating this but, it could be interesting - especially if David's store is showcased attractively.
o Purchase inquiry...Potential customers could query David
o Community involvement notification...David could show community involvement - gain local appreciation/support

3.2. Home Depot has a display ad on the DIY Network Web site.
http://www.diynetwork.com/search/results.do?easyProjectFinder=projects+bathrooms+bathtubs+installing

3.3. http://www.bobvila.com/OnTheLevel/ByCategory/Bathroom-36.html
Blog for David to participate in...bobvila.com. David could post all kinds of information regarding bathrooms...how to care for tile, fix or clean grout, how to replace a faucet, how to maximize water efficiency... In the text of his posting he can have a click-thru-link that will bring the viewer to his website. Posting a monthly tips scenario could create a following.

3.4. Search term used and top three listings:

bathroom tile & fixture suppliers Greenwich, CT
www.bestplg.com/ - Best Plumbing Tile and Stone
www.showevent.com/home/baths.shtml - ShowEvent.com
Exhibition and Trade Show Management - links to products
www.whitesplumbing.com/ - White's Plumbing Supply

bathroom tile & fixture suppliers 06830
www.sachsplumbingsupplies.com/ - Sach's Plumbing Supplies
www.bestplg.com/ - Best Plumbing Tile & Stone
www.bathroomfixtures.us/manufacturers.htm - Bathroom Fixtures Manufacturers

The top three sites that get listed is based on their descriptive words matching with order accuracy and frequency the words I used to search.

3.5.1. Usine Google Keyword, the relevant keywords and their average monthly searches based on search words - bathroom tile & fixture suppliers 06830 - are:
bathroom 11,100,000
tiles 4,090,000
fixtures 1,220,000
bathroom tile 246,000
bathroom supply 8,100

3.5.2. Using Google Traffic Estimator the cost per day of advertising using my proposed keywords is:

06830 $1 - $3
fixture $310 - $570
suppliers $580 - $1,040
tile $2,750 - $4,410
bathroom $3,580 - $6,080

Search Network Total $7,200 - $12,090

Average CPC: $1.30 (at a maximum CPC of $3.65)
Estimated clicks per day: 6,882 - 8,620 (at a daily budget of $12,090.00)

3.6. If 1% of people who click on his ad make a purchase, customer acquisition cost from search advertising is: $130.

$1.30/click x 1/.01 = $1.30 x 100 = $130.00

3.7. Average sale value is $4000; gross margin is 50%.
$4000 x .5 = $2,000 gross profit

Placing a budget on search advertising...
Average CPC: $1.30 (at a maximum CPC of $3.65)
Estimated clicks per day: 284 - 357 (at a daily budget of $500.00) Avg 3.2 customers
Estimated clicks per day: 569 - 713 (at a daily budget of $1,000.00) Avg 6.4 customers
Estimated clicks per day: 1,138 - 1,426 (at a daily budget of $2,000.00) Avg 12.8 customers

It makes sense to use the keywords I proposed with a budget setting if 1% of clickers buy.
3.2 customers x $4000 = 12,800 x .5 = $6,400 gross profit for $500 search ad cost
6.4 customers x $4000 = 25,600 x .5 = $12,800 gross profit for $1,000 search ad cost
12.8 customers x $4000 = 51,200 x .5 = $25,600 gross profit for $2,000 search ad cost

3.8. Facebook, with a hugh audience, could be used in a marketing campaign by creating an ad, placing it on the ad board. You can promote your business, a scheduled event... You have the ability to track your progress, who's clicking, make modifications. You can choose your billing method - CPC or CPM. Ads can be targeted to a specific audience.
Likewise, Twitter has a tremendous audience. It offers you the ability to share information quickly. Store events could be announced - twitter coupon codes can be disseminated. Satisfied (and disgruntled) customers can share about your business. By tracking tweets you can quickly act on disgruntled tweets...you can respond to tweets that may pertain to your business.
From both sites there is the potential for exposure, exposure, exposure.